top of page

20 mm Bladder's Stone


Question:

I am a 45 years old man with a history of kidney stones. I passed spontaneously multiple urinary stones in the past couple of years. After recent ultrasonography, my doctor told me that I had a 20 mm stone in my bladder. I wanted to know which herbs or neutraceuticals help me to get rid of this stone.

Answer:

Your stone is too big to be treated with herbs or supplements.

The diuretic herbs and natural remedies are only indicated when the stones are small ( less than 10 mm).

Usually, any stone 4mm or less will pass on its own; the bigger the stone, the more difficult it is to pass spontaneously. Between 4 mm and 6 mm, only 60 per cent will pass without medical intervention, and anything between 6 mm and -10 mm could be eliminated without intervention only 10- 40 per cent. The average maximum stretchable external urethral meatal size in an adult male is 10mm, and the diameter of the female urethra is smaller. That's why stones bigger than 10 mm cannot pass without medical intervention. Although I saw many cases of spontaneous elimination of stones bigger than 10 mm in my practice, I never recommend nonintervention therapy for those cases because it is almost always associated with urethral abrasion, bleeding and severe pain. The best way for your stone is Litholapaxy which is breaking stones apart.

In this method, you're first given numbing medication or general anesthesia to make you unconscious. Afterwards, a small tube with a camera at the end is inserted into your bladder to let your doctor see the stone. Then, a laser, ultrasound or other device breaks the stone into small pieces and flushes them from the bladder.

Sometimes after the procedure, you might still have some residual stones. In these cases, using diuretics and demulcent herbs with a lot of hydration could be beneficial.

This short video shows you how a litholapaxy for a 20 mm bladders stone looks like

Disclaimer

The medical information on this site is provided as an information resource and is not to be used or relied on for diagnostic or treatment purposes.

15 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page